top of page

Representation Of India

By Kavyaa Shah


In the past, non-white cultures have had a rough time being represented in Hollywood, including Indian culture. Starting with not acknowledging its existence at all to casting white actors in Indian roles to some recognition of stereotypes, India’s representation in Hollywood has been discussed multiple times.


India is always depicted as traditional to its culture, religious and strict. There is no denying that these are large parts of Indian culture, but are we sure this is the only thing India has to offer? Culture? We hear so much about its culture that we forget it is so much more than that, and only showcasing its cultural aspects leaves non- Indians with the wrong impression of the country and the people. For once, I’d like to see Indian parents that aren’t always strict, Indian- Americans that don’t hate their Indian heritage, and Indian children not being nerds with “no life”.


There are many Indian actors in Hollywood showing the world how true Indian culture is. They try to incorporate their culture into their projects, but it doesn’t always go as planned. An example is Mindy Kaling’s new project Never Have I Ever. Aside from the fact that it follows the I-hate-that-I’m-Indian trope, the I’m-an-Indian-so-I’m-a-nerd trope, the I-have-strict-parents trope and more, this show has everyone, including the narrator and the lead actress, mispronouncing Indian names. Is it really that hard to learn how to say Vishwakumar properly? Watching one episode gave me 48 classic stereotypes (I counted). As for white actors playing Indian roles, the best example is Ben Kingsley as Gandhi. Are you really telling me that out of 1 billion people you couldn’t find an Indian actor to play a legendary Indian role?


An example of a good depiction of Indian culture. Honest to god, I cannot think of one. Bad culture however, I can list for days. Big Bang Theory, The Simpsons, Never Have I Ever, The Office. The list goes on. Indians are trying to make a difference in Hollywood, which is good. But the need to break the stereotypes and write good shows with accurate ideations of Indian life.


Correctly depicting cultures for someone that knows nothing about said culture is near impossible - which is why we must bring in more Indians into Hollywood to properly express Indian culture, life and heritage.


Recent Posts

See All

Why Flat Earthers Are Correct

By Lavanna Anand Hello, It has come to my attention that not everyone is aware of the truth. I have found this extremely shocking...

Comments


bottom of page